Northern Lights – 17 day countdown

To see the Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) is number 73 on my bucket list. I leave for Bergen Norway in just 17 days. I cannot wait!

There are still a few things I need to do before I go, so I thought I’d share them with you as well as what websites and tools I typically use to plan my trips.

  • Passport – done (still in date by a least 6 months). Have a softcopy somewhere you can access just in case you lose it on the road.
  • Visa – done (not required)
  • Flights – all done except internal Norway flight from Kirkens to Bergen (I’ll use Skyscanner for this – but then probably book directly with the airline)
  • Accommodation – all done except for 4 nights in Bergen (I’ll use airbnb as the options looked better and cheaper than Agoda – both sites I love and use often)
  • Insurance – done (I use a family friend insurance broker at MGA for this. The cover is with CGU and includes my pre-existing medical condition)
  • Load credit card with money – I use Citibank (no additional conversion fees), and make sure a back-up card is available. I also take some cash for back up.
  • Advise banks of travel plans so they don’t cancel your cards – done
  • Medication stocktake to cover trip duration
  • Register travel plans on the Smartraveller website (The Australian Government’s travel advisory and consular assistance service) and sign up for notifications – http://www.smartraveller.gov.au/
  • Check the weather for the travel location for packing preparation

I summarise my flights, accommodation and any planned activities on a spreadsheet.  This is handy for getting my head around what needs to happen before I leave, it also severs as an on-the-road summary, and is a good thing to pass on to family and/or friends who want to know what you are up to. Passing this information on to someone at home is a good safety net for just in case something goes wrong. That way they have a good record of what your planned movements are.

Email me if you would like a free copy of my template or for further information on any of the items above.

One thought on “Northern Lights – 17 day countdown

Leave a Reply

